Adoption—a vision from God—a turning point in life!

Three months had passed since I had first contacted my birth parents. Foolishly expecting to be welcomed back into their lives with open arms, the opposite had happened. My birth mother’s lack of warmth and cold-hearted rejection of me as her biological daughter had been emotionally heart-breaking, and she had no desire to ever meet with me in person. My birth father had been kind to me, but he had suffered a massive heart attack in response to the stress I gave him. My epic journey was over. The experience had been an emotional roller coaster with poignant impassioned emotional highs followed by tearful melancholic pensive sadness. My mood was reflective and melancholic. I was wiser, but feeling incomplete and unfulfilled. My team had made it to the Super Bowl, but I had lost.

I was sound asleep when the telephone rang. It was five o’clock in the morning. Only an emergency caller would be waking me at this early hour. “Hello, Judy. I’m sorry to call you so early,” my birth father Bruno said apologetically. “I wasn’t able to visit you in Colorado because I had a massive heart attack the day after you called me,” Bruno explained. “I have been praying for you. I hope you are on the road to recovery,” I replied compassionately.

Visions from God

“Your birth mother Rebecca had a vision last night—she saw God in her dream. She wants to speak with you.” Flabbergasted, I was speechless when he diverted the topic from his open-heart surgery to Rebecca. “Good morning, Judy. This is your birth mother speaking,” Rebecca said contritely in a meek and humble voice. Her change in demeanor amazed me. She was calm and subdued and very unlike the person I had previously contacted. “My change in thinking happened as the result of a very powerful event, something I had never experienced before,” Rebecca said with conviction and still recovering from her life-changing apparition. “I dreamed the Lord was standing at the foot of my bed talking to me. His presence was very strong. He told me to change my ways and tell the truth. Evidently, I needed to hear his voice to clarify my choices and give me direction,” Rebecca said, somberly reaching out to me with certainty.

“You experienced a remarkable life-changing event this morning. Thank you for sharing your vision of God with me. I visualize you wearing a radiant golden halo, breathing an enormous sigh of relief, and smiling toward heaven as the awful burden of guilt and the shackles of secrecy are removed from your shoulders. I never stopped believing in you. My spiritual connection with you was never broken. What happened is forgiven. God has granted us serenity and brought us tranquility by bringing us together in harmony because the essence we share as mother and daughter is spiritual. We must celebrate this glorious day of reunification and peace,” I rejoined calmly while allowing my sentimental thoughts to flow freely. Rebecca agreed. “This is a divine day. I feel very devout and religious today. You belong here with me. It has been a long time. You are invited to join us for Thanksgiving,” Rebecca said extending a warm invitation to join her in spirit. “Love you, honey,” Bruno and Rebecca said in unison as our conversation ended.

My childhood dream had come true. I was absolutely euphoric. Metaphorically, I was standing on the summit of a majestic mountain peak in the Maroon Bells Wilderness, and the panoramic view was magnificent. My energy level was sky-high. My fast-streaming consciousness was in overdrive. The planned homecoming as my birth parents prodigal daughter on Thanksgiving was going to be a glorious experience to be wholeheartedly celebrated. A miraculous intervention of the Lord had inspired a turning point in our lives. God had intervened in a small way and given Rebecca hope for a better future. His image at the foot of her bed in her dream was the catalyst for openly welcoming me into her heart. I thanked God for being so great, and not forsaking me, as I had feared. I marveled at the ephemeral image that had mysterious lingered in her mind, and the spiritual connection that united us for eternity as biological mother and daughter.

Endnote: A vision from God is a very rare life-changing event for most individuals. My mother had lived with the burden of fear and doubt under a cloak of secrecy for thirty years. After this breakthrough incident occurred we were suddenly no longer opposed. The doors to our cages had been miraculously flung wide open. We united together in harmony as mother and daughter. Our focus was not to dwell on the past. Our goal was to establish friendly relations and build a positive future based on unconditional love. Our reconciliation took place sitting in a pew in the back row of a church. We hugged, held hands, shed a few tears of joy, and made our mutual peace together in unison. I felt like a shaggy dog in a Walt Disney movie lost on vacation in Yellowstone National Park who returns home exhausted and thirsty and ready for a comforting nap in front of the home fireplace. The experience was serendipitous—everything I had ever imagined in my childhood dreams finally came true.

 

http://www.adoptiondetectivejudithland.com

Adoption Detective Book | Judith Land Blogs

About Judith Land

Judith Land lives in Colorado and Arizona with husband and coauthor Martin Land. Judith is a former nurse, retail shop owner, college instructor and avid outdoor person. Her book "Adoption Detective: Memoir of an Adopted Child" is a true story detailing the journey of Judith Romano, foster child and adoptee, as she discovers fragments of her background, and then sets out to solve the mystery as an adult. "Mothers and fathers everywhere in the world need to understand that children are forever and always." --Judith Land
This entry was posted in Adoption, Faith, Parenting, Relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Adoption—a vision from God—a turning point in life!

  1. Pingback: Adoption reunion—I gave my birth father a massive heart attack! | Adoption Detective | A Novel By Judith Land

  2. Oh my gosh, I was positively breathless reading this one. Of course I was holding it from your previous post so this one gave me teary eyes and quickened breath.

    • Judith Land says:

      Dear Vampporcupine,
      Thanks for your comment. I am glad you enjoy reading. Readers most often judge a story to be of high literary value when they can recognize an interesting life and are nourished by the journey, bringing along many of their own quests and associations of their own. I hope others can learn from my experiences and opinions about the value of self-identity and family connections because they find them to be educational, inspirational and entertaining. Adoption Detective is a narrative non-fiction story. The events are true and each chapter describes what happened and how I felt about the event at the time. I found it terribly difficult to record my emotions while they were still fresh in my mind but I took copious notes during my entire three-year adoption search which made it easier to accurately describe specific events and emotions. I tape recorded each telephone call I made and every personal interview that I conducted. In many cases, the spoken words in the dialogue exactly match the words and thoughts in the text exactly as they were spoken. My husband was helpful for adding perspective and interpretations. The Dear Mom letters at the beginning of each chapter were the most difficult part of the book to write.
      Judith

  3. Pingback: “Adoption searches—euphoric highs and melancholic lows!” Judith Land | Adoption Detective | Adoption Detective | A True Story by Judith Land

  4. I have experienced the Holy Spirit (as I choose to call it) many times after reunion with my father. I don’t believe that I have the words to describe it. I cannot explain who God is or how he or she works, but it my life God is the ultimate parent who loves me unconditionally.

    • Judith Land says:

      Hi Julie, The emotional pain of separation and rejection from family and loved ones is intense and immensely difficult to overcome. There is the initial sharp pain of discovery and the dull pain of never knowing why that lasts forever. When we find ourselves in an onerous situation, unceremoniously facing a fountainhead of heartache and misfortune, we tend to sink to our lowest emotional state of mind. And, when there is no one there to help us overcome discouragement caused by the stress of separation and lonesomeness, those who long for relationships that could have been will find it therapeutic to direct their accepted wisdom to God. Judith

    • Judith Land says:

      Julie, Understanding the divine trinity of the Holy Spirit, the Spirit of Christ, in Christianity arose from several different historical accounts in the Gospel narratives that unveiled the epiphany of God, enabling the proclamation of Jesus Christ and the power that brought conviction of faith. There are many interpretations and iconography associated with the Holy Spirit including depiction of the Christian Holy Spirit as a dove, the depiction of the Trinity with God as the Holy Spirit, and the Pentecost icon depicting the descent of the Holy Spirit. Christians view the Lord as a refuge for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble and the omnipotent Creator and Redeemer of mankind that comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to console those who are also in affliction, the way that he comforts us. Judith

Leave a Reply

