Adoption: “Oh! Tell me of my Mother” Judith Land | Adoption Detective

“Oh! Tell Me of My Mother” by Stephen Collins Foster lingered in my memory. The sentimental lyrics brought tears to my eyes. After hearing this song, I hugged my pillow at night, and fantasized about my birth mother.” —Judith Land, author & adoptee

Judith Land | Adoption Detective | Celebrity Adoptee

“Oh, tell me of my Mother. Is she roaming the skies? I’ve been dreaming all about her, and awoke with tearful eyes. She was bending o’er my pillow in a deep and earnest prayer, and her voice was like the breathing of the soft summer air. Is the world so full of pain that she will not come again like a sunbeam on the rain? Oh, tell me of my mother. Does she know I’m here alone? Where have my early friends gone and my dearest memories flown? Oh, tell me of my mother.” —Stephen Collins Foster, 1861

When I was eight years old I was told that I was adopted. I was curious to know what my birth parents looked like because I was subconsciously longing to be with them. I was naturally attracted to the married couple across the street that looked more like me. They owned a player piano. I loved to read the words on the sheet music while the piano performed each melody perfectly. (Adoption Detective, page 78)

Adoption Story | Adoption Reunion | Judith Land Blog | Adoption Blogs

http://www.adoptiondetectivejudithland.com

About Judith Land

Judith Land lives in Colorado and Arizona with husband and coauthor Martin Land. Judith is a former nurse, retail shop owner, college instructor and avid outdoor person. Her book "Adoption Detective: Memoir of an Adopted Child" is a true story detailing the journey of Judith Romano, foster child and adoptee, as she discovers fragments of her background, and then sets out to solve the mystery as an adult. "Mothers and fathers everywhere in the world need to understand that children are forever and always." --Judith Land
This entry was posted in Adoption, Books, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adoption: “Oh! Tell me of my Mother” Judith Land | Adoption Detective

  1. Pingback: “Preparing for the Adoption Reunion” | Adoption Detective | A Novel By Judith Land

Leave a Reply

